• An empty cart

    You have no item in your shopping cart

Enter your keyword


BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing

The Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Computing offers students two specialist pathways designed to support progression into relevant occupational areas or on to degree-level study. These pathways are linked to Professional Body standards and vendor accredited certification (where appropriate) and can provide professional status and progression to direct employment. The Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma offers the following specialist pathways for students who wish to concentrate on a particular aspect of computing:

  • Network Engineering
  • Software Engineering
  • Data Analytics
  • Security
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Applications Development.

There is also a non-specialist ‘Computing’ pathway, which allows students to complete a Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma without committing to a particular professional specialism. This offers additional flexibility to providers and students.

Holders of the Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma will have developed a sound understanding of the principles in their field of study and will have learned to apply those principles more widely. They will have learned to evaluate the appropriateness of different approaches to solving problems. They will be able to perform effectively in their chosen field and will have the qualities necessary for employment in situations requiring the exercise of personal responsibility and decision-making.

On successful completion of the Pearson BTEC Higher National Diploma at Level 5, students can develop their careers in the computing sector through:

  • Entering employment
  • Continuing existing employment
  • Linking with the appropriate vendor accredited certificates
  • Committing to Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
  • Progressing to university.

The Level 5 Higher National Diploma is recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements to many relevant computing-related courses.   Details of entry requirements for BTEC Higher National graduates into degree programmes at institutions in the UK and internationally can be found on the Degree Course Finder website (http://degreecoursefinder.pearson.com/).

Core Modules:

  1. Computing Research Project (Pearson-set)
  2. Business Intelligence

 Software Engineering Pathway:

  1. Discrete Maths
  2. Data Structures & Algorithms
  3. Advanced Programming
  4. Information Security Management
  5. Application Development

Applications Development Pathway:

  1. Prototyping
  2. Application Program Interfaces
  3. Application Development
  4. Data Structures & Algorithms
  5. Information Security Management

The learner will need to meet the requirements outlined in the table below before Pearson can award the qualification, i.e. achieve the appropriate mandatory and optional units.

Minimum number of credits that must be achieved  240
Number of mandatory credits that must be achieved 180
Number of optional credits that must be achieved 60
Minimum number of credits that must be achieved at Level 5 180


1 – Age restriction

Minimum: 18

2 – HNC in relevant subject.


3 – APEL / APL

Students already in employment or with relevant previous experience

4 – English Language Competency

Minimum: CEFR B2

PTE Academic = 51 (in all 4 skills) or IELTS = 5.5 (in all 4 skills)

Study Mode

Online | Full Time

Start Dates

Full Time: To be confirmed 
Part Time: To be confirmed 
Online: Flexible start dates

Tuition Fee

Full Time: £6000.00
Part Time: £3000.00 / per annum
Online: £1800.00 / per annum


Full Time / 1 Year

Awarding Body

Reviews Statistic

0 out of 0
0 Ratings
5 Start 0
4 Start 0
3 Start 0
2 Start 0
1 Start 0


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing”

3 × three =

Font Resize